About

My nickname is Nelly, I am a Northern Girl from the UK, I was born in Manchester, brought up in Oldham, now living in Cyprus with my little family of three.   I started this Blog just prior to Christmas 2016, after 2 years of promising myself that I would.  It is an ongoing project and a huge learning curve, particularly the technical side of things.

I am an independent woman, a loving partner (except when he leaves his dirty socks on the floor), and mummy to an adorable 12 year old son, at least I think he is.  I have the most incredible family and set of friends, both here in Cyprus and back in the UK, and consider myself to be very lucky.

I am a graduate with a varied working history, I left behind a successful career as a Student Services Manager in a large inner city academy, having been headhunted from my previous role as an Education Welfare Adviser and self-employed Attendance Adviser (aka the Wag Lady!).  Prior to having my son, I was a Marketing Manager in Greater Manchester with clients all over the UK, which enabled me to travel to some fantastic places and meet many interesting people.

These days for work, I run 2 businesses with the help of my partner Niffa, they are Love Me Do and Hot Tub Party Cyprus , both of which were set up in early 2016, and we are working our socks off (not that we wear them with flip-flops you understand!), to make a success of them both. Well paid work in Cyprus is hard to come by especially if you don’t speak the language, and even if you do … I am learning but as they say over here “siga siga” – slowly slowly.

I am a daydreamer, a traveller who has not travelled anywhere near enough, a novice writer, a keen amateur photographer, a truly terrible singer, a pretty good cook (or so I am told), and in the words of Niffa “Mad as a Box of Frogs”.  In addition to work and hobbies, my favourite things to do are spending time with my family and friends, laughing, drinking, eating (a lot!), dancing (badly!), reading, and sleeping. I have in the past been referred to as Grandpa Jo due to my affection for my bed, and tendency to fall asleep in the middle of nightclubs!  I also love to entertain, and my kitchen is my second happy place after my bed, wooden spoon in one hand and glass of wine in the other, my style of cooking is experimental but I do have tried and tested family favourites which are always welcomed by my boys.

We moved to Cyprus in August 2014 and I ADORE my adopted home, ours is a large village 5 minutes from the sea, 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan town of Larnaca, 20 minutes from the stunning beaches of Ayia Napa & Protaras, and 35 mins from the capital of Cyprus Nicosia – all in all the Perfect Location.  Some people ask me “why Cyprus?”, I say “why not?”.  With near year round sunshine, beautiful beaches in the East, and quaint, traditional mountain villages, warm and welcoming people, there is so much to love and a lot to explore considering its small size.

I like a challenge, so mine for 2017 are to blog regularly, grow the 2 businesses, establish the brand “Nelly”, learn to scuba dive properly (I have only ever done a try-dive), swim & snorkel more, take Niffa SUPing, do some proper exercise and stick to my diet (actually that is a challenge every year!) and buy/build our own house – with Niffa’s help of course. But mainly to be happy and be kind, and spend lots of quality time with my men, especially H my precious boy, who is growing up far too quickly for my liking.

Love  from Nelly x